Basic melodies for learning rhythm

Hi Luke,

I’m afraid this might a big feature request. :grimacing:

As a beginner, I often I find myself humming along the tune while practicing the rhythm section. I’m trying to cement the chord progression for a given song in my head.

It’d be great if you could give “picking the basic melody” a similar treatment as you have for “strumming the chords.”

I’m imagining you might key in the tablature and that would get played over the chords. (eg June 2018 - Old Joe Clark). You could choose to have the melody come in every time or trade off to practice transitioning between playing the melody and backing.

I’ll admit I have no idea how difficult this would be to build, and I know it would add a lot of complexity to the interaction model, but would be useful to me! :slight_smile:

Love Strummachine and grateful that you are actively developing the product, and now community.

-Frankie

4 Likes

Hey Frankie, sorry I didn’t respond earlier. That is indeed a big feature request. :wink: I would love to be able to offer some melody-related features, but they’ll have to wait until I’ve completed some of the other features on my list. The biggest problem with melodies, more than it being a ton of work, is actually copyright… I can offer chords without licensing them, but the same isn’t true for melodies. I’m honestly not sure what my licensing options are, and will probably have to consult an attorney familiar with music copyright law. But that’s a whole can of worms that I’m not eager to open, so for now I’m going to focus on other ways of making Strum Machine. But I’m too excited about the idea to let go of it entirely!

Thanks for your input!

1 Like

No problem! Thanks for the thoughtful response.

Agree that copyright could be an issue. (Though when I’m learning a new tune, I buy it and stream it a bunch of times so that should actually help the copyright holder out :stuck_out_tongue:)