Released: new song editor with many new enhancements (v331)

Hey everyone,

I’m very excited to announce that the main (non-beta) version of Strum Machine has been updated with a brand new song editor! This is something I’ve been working on for nearly five months now, with the help of many beta testers; many thanks to everyone who tried it out while I was developing it and submitted feedback!

So what’s new? Lots:

• New chords: 6, maj7, sus2, sus4, and augmenteds, with more to be added in the future by popular demand.

• Slash chords, to set the bass note independently of the strummed chord.

• Subdivided beats, where each quarter-note beat can be assigned a different chord.

• Line length customization, for when the phrasing of a song doesn’t divide evenly into groups of 4 measures.

• New Chord, Chart, and FX menus to access all these new features.

• Multi-select (click-and-drag or Shift+arrow-keys) in the song editor to make edits to many beats at once.

• Cut/copy/paste shortcuts, like in other programs. Comes in handy for quickly duplicating phrases within a section, for example.

• New keyboard shortcuts; click the Shortcuts button in the editor to see the keyboard commands available.

• Hear as you edit feature; listen to chords as you type them in and move around the chart you’re editing.

• Redesigned section editing interface – no more popup window to edit the section label or rep count.

Plus one big non-editing addition:

• You can now record the output of Strum Machine and save it to an MP3 file on your computer. You can then use it in, for example, an audio-recording program. To enable this feature, open Advanced Settings, then enable “Backing track recorder”.